PDF Print Email

William M. Burke Presidental Award Winners



Dr. Ron Vaughn, President, The University of Tampa




Dr. Daan Braveman, President, Nazareth College





Sidney McPhee, President, Middle Tennessee State University

MTSU and Dr. McPhee have long been recognized as leaders in the state of Tennessee, and have now begun to receive national recognition for their work in experiential education. His work and dedication to increasing the opportunities for all students to engage in experiential learning have long been a source of great pride. -- C. Matthew Little, The University of Alabama in Huntsville

Carol Swayze and Janet McCormick (accepting for Dr. Sidney McPhee) and Dr. Gene Albert


John Bowen, Chancellor, Johnson & Wales University

Bowen’s commitment to experiential education extends beyond the walls of Johnson & Wales University. Under Bowen’s leadership, the university, and the communities it serves, has flourished in three distinct experiential education areas: internships, community service learning programs, and international education programs. The local impact of the university experiential education programs cannot be fully articulated but the following information provides a sense of the significant influence of his leadership. -- Gregory Lorenz, PhD., Dean of Experiential Education, and Maureen Dumas, VP of Experiential Education & Career Services, Johnson & Wales University

NSEE President Jim Colbert, John Bowen, and Alan Grose, TWC


Dr. MaryAnn Baenninger, President of the College of St. Benedict 

“I confidently declare—without exaggeration—that President Baenninger’s leadership has brought about unprecedented change at our colleges….[Her] manner of open and respectful communication, her entrepreneurial spirit and creative ideas, innovative programs she has supported or started, and her extramural activities as a scholar and participant in the national community of academe all reflect her strong belief in the power of transformative experiential learning.” -- Marcus Webster, PhD, Dept. of Biology, College of St. Benedict 






Dr. MaryAnn Baenninger and NSEE President Dr. Ron Kovach, 


Dr. Paul Pribbenow, President - Augsburg College

“Dr. Pribbenow is an exceptional leader in the field of experiential education and service learning…Because of the support and innovative ideas of President Pribbenow while he was in Illinois, Campus Compact was able to engage many more Presidents, Faculty, Staff and Students in the persuit of servant leadership and committed citizens….[he] has modeled for college students the values important to Servant Leadership.” -- Kathy Engelken, Executive Director of the Illinois Campus Compact

NSEE President Dr. Ron Kovach, TWC Co-Founder Sheila McRevey Burke, Dr. Garry Hesser (accepting for Dr. Paul Pribbenow) and Dr. Gene Albert, Sr. Vice President, TWC



Dr. Steven Kaplan, President - University of New Haven

Dr. Kaplan was recognized for his vision and goal to enhance the academic experience of UNH students by creating and updating a strategic plan that supports a university-wide infrastructure for developing, monitoring and evaluating experiential learning opportunities, most notably, the creation of UNH’s Center for Experiential Education.  --Dr. Christie Boronico and Dr. Jeremy Geller, University of New Haven


NSEE Past President Dr. Jim Walters, Jeremy Geller, University of New Haven (accepting for Dr. Steven Kaplan), TWC Co-Founder Sheila McRevey Burke, Christy Boronico, University of New Haven (accepting for Dr. Steven Kaplan) and Erika Wurgler, Northwestern Mutual



Dr. Anne B. Kerr, President - Florida Southern College

“Dr. Kerr…has woven engaged learning pedagogies and service learning into the fiber of every academic department and every aspect of our students’ college experience. She has built active student engagement into the innovative new curriculum and has made it a way of life on campus for students, faculty, and staff alike…” --Dr. Robert L. Fryer, Jr. ’70, Chairman, Florida Southern College Board of Trustees


TWC Co-Founder Sheila McRevey Burke, Dr. Anne B. Kerr, NSEE Past President Dr. Jim Walters, Dr. Gene Albert, Sr. Vice-President, TWC



Dr. Leo M. Lambert, President - Elon University

“Under Dr. Lambert’s leadership, Elon has developed and deepened its experiential programming so that now the hallmark of an Elon education is engaged learning in and out of the classroom…Through his visible position in higher education, he consistently voices the vision, idealism, and values that are foundational to experiential education in the academy.”  --Pam Brumbaugh and Pam Kiser, Elon University 

Last Updated on Tuesday, April 10, 2018 09:59 AM