PDF Print Email

SEE Diversity & Inclusion Scholarship

SEE Commitment to Diversity

The Society for Experiential Education to committed to diversity, equity, and inclusion in its membership and program offerings.  Our vision is to expand the perspectives shared and voices heard throughout our growing profession. We wish to improve access to premier professional development and increase the involvement of diverse experiential educators in SEE’s committees, initiatives, and leadership opportunities.

SEE Diversity & Inclusion Scholarship

The SEE Diversity & Inclusion Scholarship includes one year of membership, one complimentary conference registration with a $500 stipend to support travel to the SEE conference. 

Who is Eligible? Individuals who:

  • are from groups currently underrepresented within SEE, including, but not limited to: African-American/Black, Latinx, Asian, Pacific Islander, Native American, LGBTQ+, Veterans, People with disabilities.
  • currently working in the field of experiential education.
  • have not attended the SEE National Conference in the last 3 years. 

What does the Scholarship provide?

  • A year of SEE individual membership.
  • A complimentary registration to the 2023 Annual Conference in Orlando, Florida
  • A $500 stipend for lodging or travel to the annual conference
  • A mentor from the SEE leadership 

Other Information:

  • Recipient must submit receipts for reimbursement within 1 week after the conference.
  • Recipient is required to submit a short article (no more than 300 words) about their conference experience for the SEE Newsletter.

The SEE Awards Committee will make the selections and notify recipients.
Deadline to submit has been extended to March 21, 2022.


2021 Diversity & Inclusion Scholarship Winners

Ete Chan-Lo Headshot       Jocelyn Salcedo Headshot
    Dr. Ete Chan-Lo                    Jocelyn Salcedo
Stony Brook University          Bennington College 

2020 Diversity & Inclusion Scholarship Winners
     Ting Sie King                          Patricia Roque                       Leezel Ramos
Swinburne University             University of South                Seattle University
of Technology Sarawak                Florida

2019 Diversity & Inclusion Scholarship Winners
   Christy Quiogue                Jennifer Erilus
      Christy Quiogue                              Jennifer Erilus
San Diego State University           Bristol Community College
 Read Christy's Bio here               Read Jennifer's Bio here

2018 Diversity & Inclusion Scholarship Winners
   Shelia Moses               Theresa Harrison
        Shelia Moses                             Theresa Harrison
The University of Memphis     University of South Carolina  

Diversity Blog